Technology

Water mist - the superior extinguishing agent
 

The effect of the Aquasys firefighting systems is based on the exceptional properties of high-pressure water mist. The water is driven through stainless steel pipes via specially designed nozzles. This reduces the droplet size from a diameter of 1 mm to 50 – 200 µm, creating an extremely fine water mist, which has a much larger water surface area. This huge water surface area is able to tackle fires in a very efficient way by using following effects:

 Cooling:

High-pressure water mist creates a highly effective cooling effect due to its large number of extremely small droplets. The water mist quickly reduces the fire’s energy and cools the source of the fire.

The vaporisation of 1 litre of water in one second corresponds to a cooling capacity of approx. 2.25 MWs.

 Intertisation:

The heat of the fire vaporises the water droplets and expands their volume many times over. The sudden vaporisation inertises the atmosphere in the immediate vicinity of the source of the fire. The water mist displaces the oxygen the fire needs to exist.

The vaporisation of 1 litre of water creates 1673 litres of water mist.

 Shielding:

In the event of a fire, the fine droplets of the water mist produced ensure a dense, reflective wall of water mist, which reduces the fire's thermal radiation. This helps to contain the fire and contributes to the cooling effect, as well as actively supporting the washing out of flue gases. All of these properties increase the possibility of escape from the affected area.

 Environmentally friendly:

Pure water as an extinguishing agent is completely safe for people and the environment. This means that it can be used immediately, without hesitation and without any prior warning time for almost all fire classes. Water also has the highest energy requirement for it to be transferred into another physical state (ice, water, steam), so it is able to quickly remove a large amount of energy from the fire.

 Universal:

The huge reaction surface of water mist means that it has outstanding extinguishing properties and that it can be used in fire classes A, B, C and F. The water can also be combined with additives in order to adjust the extinguishing or temperature characteristics to the local requirements.

Technologie

Wassernebel – das bessere Löschmittel

Die Wirkung der Aquasys Löschanlagen beruht auf den hervorragenden Eigenschaften von Hochdruck-Wassernebel. Das Wasser wird dabei über Edelstahlrohre durch speziell konstruierte Düsen getrieben. Die Tropfengröße wird dadurch von 1 mm Durchmesser auf 50 - 200 µm reduziert und es entsteht ein sehr feiner Wassernebel. Dieser erzeugt, im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Sprinkleranlagen, eine viel größere Wasseroberfläche und ist daher in der Lage den Brand sehr effizient zu bekämpfen. Dabei kommen folgende Eigenschaften zum Einsatz:

 Kühlung:

Hochdruck-Wassernebel sorgt durch viele sehr kleine Tröpfchen für einen hoch effizienten Kühleffekt. Der Wassernebel entzieht dem Feuer sehr rasch die Energie und kühlt den Brandherd ab.

Verdampft 1 Liter Wasser in einer Sekunde entspricht das einer Kühlleistung von ca. 2,25 MWs.

 Inertisierung:

Durch die Hitze des Feuers verdampfen die Wassertropfen und vergrößern dadurch nochmals ihr Volumen um ein Vielfaches. Das plötzliche Verdampfen inertisiert die unmittelbare Atmosphäre des Brandherds. Der Wassernebel verdrängt dabei den für das Feuer lebensnotwendigen Sauerstoff.

Verdampft 1 Liter Wasser entstehen 1673 Liter Wasserdampf.

 Abschirmung:

Der produzierte Wassernebel sorgt im Brandfall durch feinste Tropfen für eine dichte, reflektierende Wassernebelwand, welche die Wärmestrahlung des Feuers reduziert. Dadurch wird zur Brandeindämmung und Kühlwirkung beigetragen und aktiv die Auswaschung der Rauchgase unterstützt. All diese Eigenschaften erhöhen die Fluchtmöglichkeiten im betroffenen Bereich!

 Umweltfreundlich:

Reines Wasser als Löschmedium ist für den Menschen und die Umwelt absolut harmlos. Dies ermöglicht für beinahe alle Brandklassen einen bedenkenlosen und im Bedarfsfall sofortigen Einsatz ohne Vorwarnzeit!  Darüber hinaus weist Wasser den höchsten Energiebedarf zur Überführung in einen anderen Aggregatzustand (Eis, Wasser, Dampf) auf und ist somit in der Lage, dem Feuer rasch viel Energie zu entziehen.

 Universell:

Aufgrund der enorm großen Reaktionsfläche von Wassernebel, sind die Löscheigenschaften hervorragend und ermöglichen einen Einsatz bei den Brandklassen A, B, C und F. Zusätzlich kann das Wasser mit Additiven kombiniert werden um Lösch- oder Temperatureigenschaften an die örtlichen Anforderungen anzupassen.